TOPIC 5: Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

The need of learned a new language besides mother tongue is increasing nowadays, especially for children to enhance their knowledge. Some experts claim that children should approach foreign language at an early age than secondary school.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language at a very young age may cause some demerits and adverse. First of all, children at primary school usually do not concentrate on the lessons taught by teachers and are interested in some outdoor activities or games. As a result, primary school kids can not receive and understand all of the foreign languages they have learned. Furthermore, there is some specific knowledge that secondary school children would do better than primary school children about using the new language. For instance, if children want to practice English in daily life or enhance their lexical resources by self-study, they need a certain age to learn all of these.

On the other hand, learning a new language at the early age of six to ten years old has some merits and activations for children. Firstly, initiating a foreign language at a young age is easier than other ages. For example, children in primary school have a capacity to remember and spell words twice as fast as older children, so they have an opportunity to learn actively and without difficulty. Secondly, there are so many methods nowadays supported for children to get approach with a new language. To be more specific, children can practice or learn new vocabulary when playing games or watching funny films. As a consequence, this knowledge they learned will help children in both career path and education path in the future.

In conclusion, there can be no doubt that the positives are greater in learning an additional language at school age. It is therefore advisable to encourage children to facilitate their acquisition and provide what they need to learn as much as possible.