Topic: Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the government should take responsibility for providing free healthcare and education for its people, while others say that individuals should bear the costs for these services. While personal payments for medical and educational services can improve service quality, I believe that it is better for society if these principal services are completely funded by the government.

On the one hand, if many people can pay for their medical bills or tuitions, the quality of these essential services will be improved. This is because schools and hospitals will have more budget to renovate their facilities, train for their staff and upgrade with modern technology. This will result in a higher quality of service and shorter waiting lists of people who have waited for medical treatments. For example, in Vietnam, people, who have the good financial ability, can go to private hospitals to have an examination immediately without an appointment, they do not have to wait for weeks or months for their turns in public hospitals. However, I believe this approach is only applicable to a small number of rich people in our society.

On the other hand, providing primary education and healthcare services is an obvious obligation of every government. The reason is that individuals pay tax to contribute to the national budget and the government must use this budget to provide necessary public services for its residents. Medical and education cost is unaffordable for many people who are even in the middle class, so that if governments cannot subsidize for these primary services, the poor can not go to school and receive proper healthcare services, resulting in rising poverty and crime in countries. For instance, the University of Oxford recently reported that the crime rate in countries where people could not access free education and medical service is 80% higher than in nations where these services are free. Therefore, subsidizing the healthcare and education system is the best solution to provide well-being for individuals and stabilize society.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages regarding the personal payments for healthcare and education, these services are financial burdens for others and governments should offer medical and education free of charge to all to ensure social equality and develop the countries.