Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that scientific research should be conducted and managed by governments than performed by corporations. This essay totally agrees with this statement because only governments have enough resources to support these projects to achieve reliable outcomes and these results should be controlled to prevent the misuse of them.

Undertaking a scientific study or project will require a huge amount of time, money and knowledge of scientists. To achieve the best results, these experiments should be conducted in high standard labs by qualified scientists with sufficient budgets provided. These strict requirements are only available in the universities, research centers funded by governments. If these researches are carried out by corporations who are primarily driven by their profits, the results can be modified or manipulated to maximize profits, and it can affect seriously to society. For example, thalidomide, a drug developed by a German company, had been used widely by many pregnant women around the world, resulting in the birth of thousands of malformed children because they did not conduct the appropriate number of trials due to the limited budget.

Another reason why research on science should be funded and controlled by states is that the outcomes of many projects could have a huge influence on humanity or society. Therefore, these experiments should be performed and administered the applications properly to avoid using them for incorrect purposes. If private companies involve in these studies, the outcomes can not be kept confidential or might be used in commercial manners that are beneficial for corporations only. Moreover, some of the results might be used by illegal organizations such as terrorists against innocent people. For instance, research on chemical warfare agents should be strictly undertaken and managed by authorities only because any terrorist organization can create easily a deadly attack to a massive of people by these chemicals in a very short time.

In conclusion, governments should fund and manage scientific studies completely because they have the best ability to carry out and control their applications to benefit human