Topic: Some people think that the government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is individuals' responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is common for citizens in a modern society that suffer from a series of health problems. Some people believe that the government should shoulder the obligation to ensure its citizens to have healthy diets. Others claim that individuals should take responsibilities for their own healthy diets. I suppose having healthy diets needs efforts both from the government and individuals.

To begin with, we have to admit that the government has the duty to encourage its citizens to have a healthy diet, as it is the administrator of the country. Ensuring that every citizen has a healthy diet needs large investment and long-term efforts, which may be beyond the capacity of private companies. Meanwhile, the government can carry out some policies to encourage citizens to have healthy diets, which may be more persuasive. Moreover, the government can get easy access to media, and the policies can be easily publicized all around the country, which would arouse public awareness of having healthy diets.

At the same time, we should not ignore the efforts of individuals. If every individual can resist the temptation of unhealthy diets, there will be a large step in the country. For instance, people can eat less fast food which contains a huge quantity of oil and calories. Moreover, citizens should learn to balance their diet which is beneficial to their health. For example, they need to eat more fresh vegetables and fruit filled with vitamin C, which is good for people’s health.

Overall, it is necessary for the government to take responsibilities for citizens’ healthy diet. Meanwhile, individuals have the duty to pay more attention to their diets, which have significant effects on their health.