The older generations tend to have traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. Some people argue that these traditional ideas are not helpful in preparing the younger generations for modern life. Do you agree or disagree?

We are living in an era where the older generation are quickly left behind by the fast-changing society. When traditions no longer suit the society, people argue that old ideas would not help the young to adapt to modern life. While I agree some traditional views are useless and even restrictive, I strongly doubt that all traditional ideas are helpless.

Undoubtedly, getting to know the traditions and old cultures is the first step to take if we want to step forward. Human development is always based on history and civilization created by our pioneers. Therefore, it is necessary for the younger generation to know the conventions in their own culture, even though they are regarded out-of-date, because people can always choose the most essential to inherit and the most promisingly valuable things to improve.

Furthermore, we have to admit that some traditional views do value, some are even precious in modern society. Although the economical and social environment is changing, something in root should remain unchanged. For example, ancient Chinese people attach great significance to working hard, which is still valuable and appreciated in today’s workplace. Other traditional characteristics in China such as politeness, honesty and good manners are still beneficial if young people can adopt them.

Of course, that is not to say that we should overestimate the effect of old values and views. Some of them has obviously decayed and become limits for the younger generation. For instance, in ancient China, young girls should get married before the age of 20, otherwise they will be criticized and despised. Conversely, today, it is not wise to choose to get married unless one has a stable income and certain amount of savings.

In all, although some old ideas are useless and even seem stupid, there still exit those of value that can be helpful in individual development. More importantly, we should recognize our capability and importance in improving old conventions and inheriting the essence of our traditional culture.