Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traveling around the world can be quite convenient in this globalized world. We can go to other countries to experience their cultures and taste the local foods that cannot be found in our hometown. However, I think as we travel to other places, it is also our responsibility to be aware of the local cultures and environments.

Certainly, tourism industry is the one of the most important income for some countries. They relies on tourists who comes to travel each year. They introduce their local customs and sell cuisines to make money for living, and because of this, I think sometime the environments or the cultures are damaged not only by tourists but also by the local people. For instance, in Taiwan, there are some local sky lantern sellers would sell the lanterns made of cheaper materials, which this could cause fires in the forest where these sky lanterns land.

On the other hand, tourists are the another factor for the matter. Some of them will forget the importance of maintaining cultures and environments. They leave rubbishes at the beaches, mountains, and lakes, or refuse to follow the rules because they don’t want to. Some traditional activities which have been holding many years would possibly be cancelled or transformed (which lost their original values) in order to please these travelers. They often forget the reason why they come to visit in the first place, which it is supposed to be experiencing the culture and the environment.

Although the industries have contributed to the economies for many countries, I think for both sides of tourists and the local people should all pay more attentions on maintaining the local cultures and environments.