Traditional education versus online education: which one is better?

In this day and age, technology seems to be part and parcel of education, in which opinions diverge on whether traditional classrooms are currently overshadowed by online training. Although some fervently advocate this sentiment, I am at loggerheads owing to a myriad of rational reasons.

Admittedly, a traditional classroom offers learners an effective environment to absorb knowledge. This can be explained that a teacher, in the process of giving a lecture, shows their wide array of facial expressions in conjunction with body language attracting listeners, which “the machines” as a computer can not perform. As a result, the more exciting the studying time is, the higher concentrated students are, which is in proportion to the higher probability of acquiring the knowledge.

Further and even more prominently, attending classes in person refines students’ numerous necessary skills. To be more accurate, through face-to-face working with teachers and other classmates, pupils can improve both communication and teamwork skills which are of paramount importance to not only their future career path but also their daily life. Meanwhile, a haemorrhage in cooperation skills of students is attributed to sitting in front of a computer during the online courses.

Last but not least, participants’ age ranges and subjects are not the hurdles of traditional education while the reverse is true for internet-based platforms. First, e-learning is not suitable for all-aged learners. When the covid-19 pandemic transpires, which obligates the young children to stay home instead of going to schools, most of them can not concentrate on the lesson as well as operate machines to study online without parental support and supervision. Second, online education is less effective than traditional one, particularly in the practical fields. Subjects, for example, like arts and sports require direct observation and correction from the teacher, which a computer can not offer.

By way of conclusion, notwithstanding the benefits of online education, I ascertain that on no account can a traditional teaching method be substituted.