traffic jam

In modern time, the issue of traffic jam has become a matter for discussion. Many commentators are of the view that the authorities can solve this problem by constructing more train and metro line. Whereas other fell that constructing more roads and expanding existing roads will solve traffic jam. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide an overall opinion.

From an overall perspective, the first view seems to be reasonable simply because the success of advanced countries shows that trains and underground lines are an appropriate way to tackle traffic congestion. Take an example, in Taipei which is the capital city in Taiwan, where people used to experience of the high level of traffic jam owning to too many private vehicles. Thus, the government who invested heavily in modern railway systems now is no longer see serious traffic congestion.

Perhaps the main reason why people are favour in constructing more roads and expanding existing roads is that train and metro lines would be not suitable for an urgent situation. In evidence, the development of the railway system would be time-consuming and require a huge amount of money. Therefore, the government should consider alternative solutions to tackle traffic congestion in the short term. Equally important is that some roads now would be overloaded owning to high traffic volume. To illustrate, in Ho Chi Minh city, where many roads are narrow or in poor conditions which cause traffic congestion. Consequence, these roads should wide and the government should create new roads to reduce traffic pressure on the old system.

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments of the first idea, it seems to me that there are more persuasive reasons to agree with the opposite second view.