As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As transportation and housing issues has been worsen in many cities, the relocation of firms to rural areas is promoted by some governments. Although this trend may have an adverse bearing on society, I believe the positive sides are more significant.

On the one hand, the relocation may cause some issues to businesses. One of issues that they may confront relates to skilled labors. In rural area, the proportion of skilled workers is more limited than that in cities. As a result, businesses have difficulty to recruit enough right people. Moreover, businesses which decide to relocate to the countryside may experience transportation difficulties because the infrastructure system is not developed. The expenses incurred from retaining employees and transportation end up canceling out any cost saving made.

On the other hand, this trend exerts some certain advantages. Firstly, businesses which move to the countryside will have advantage relating to profitability. Rural areas often have lower property price, that help businesses to reduce operation cost. In some countries, governments often have policies of tax incentives that draw investment in the countryside. This policy is beneficial to the firms which move to rural area. Secondly, the relocation of firms to rural area will make great contribution to reducing the traffic congestion and lack of household in the city. This would certainly ease the influx of people migrating to the cities for employment, so overcrowding in urban regions, as a problem, may be alleviated.

In conclusion, despite of some drawbacks, the trend that businesses move to rural areas confer more benefits.