Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today.

What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Nowadays one of the major worldwide problems that many cities are facing is delays in transportation and long journey times. The following paragraphs will elaborate on the significant causes of this phenomenon and propose some practical solutions.

The first and most important cause of this delay in travelling would be the poor control of traffic. Nowadays, people are using private vehicles to travel through the city and most of these vehicles are single-occupancy vehicles, which results in heavy traffic. Many public transportation vehicles might stock behind this crowded traffic too, which results in a significant delay in the arrival time of passengers and extends the journey times. In addition, during rush hours, the number of transportation vehicles is not sufficient for the number of passengers, so many individuals have to stay in a long queue to take a bus or taxi which results in dramatic delays.

To rectify these mentioned causes, first of all, the best solution would be an appropriate management and control of the traffic. By establishing some rules to reduce single occupancy vehicles, governments may be able to reduce these kinds of traffic. For example, one of these rules might be preparing special lines in streets for cars which are carrying more than two passengers, which may help people to encourage to carry more passengers in a ride to use these uncrowded lines on the street. Additionally, governments can use more public transportation vehicles in crowded parts of the city during rush hours from other parts that experience less congestion in these hours. For example, part A of a city experiences a rush hour at 8 a.m. while part B does not have this problem at that moment. Therefore, governments can move almost all public transportation in Part B to help people in Part A at this time.

To sum up, the problems of delays in transportation and long journey times are a widespread problem in many cities, due to the lack of an appropriate traffic control strategy as well as good management of using public transportation in the right places during rush hours. To improve these mentioned problems, some rules and techniques might be helpful.