The trend of online shopping is increasing significantly. What effect does it have on the environment and society in general?

Nowadays, purchasing goods online become more popular than ever. This essay will discuss its impact to modern society and environment supported with examples.

In current computerised era, for many individuals, buying stuff from comfort of their house or office exceeding sells in regular stores. People have access to wide range of goods from different markets across the globe. On the other hand, this popular trend might have negative impact to society and wellbeing. For example, people who buy all products through online shopping spend most of the time behind the screen of their computer sitting on the chair. Due to the lack of movement, their body fat, cholesterol and chance of having cardiac disease rapidly increasing. Moreover, purchasing goods online involves only non-human contact and should have negative impact to mental health. People will lose their adaptability to interact with strangers as they have been used to talk to sale personnel.

Secondly, online shopping increase demand to shipping companies, what cause more exhale fumes into our environment. As many parcels are despatched every day as more planes or trucks are in operation and polluting atmosphere. Casual shopping in malls or small shops reduce amount of oxides exhausted from delivery trucks and planes, because wide range of products is delivered just into once place and not to individual household or office.

To sum up, regular shopping has positive impact to our physical and mental health as the environment. Shopping in shopping centres make people move, interact with others and reduce pollution of environment by delivery all goods to main point.