In the twentieth century, contact between different parts of the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunications.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern technological advances in communication systems and the convenience of air travel have made connections possible between various countries worldwide. While there are advantages and disadvantages to this topic, I believe the positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks.

The developments of the aviation industry have facilitated international trade and tourism. Firstly, improvements in the transportation sector have given rise to economic collaborations between countries. As a result, countries have worldwide access to trade and commerce with affordable commodities. Moreover, tourism is one of the industries that rely heavily on aviation. By facilitating tourism in many countries of the world including Greece, Italy and Thailand, air transport helps generate economic growth. In addition, advancements in telecommunication technologies have greatly impacted the way people and nations interact with each other at a worldwide level. For instance, companies are able to exchange business documents electronically with customers and suppliers in remote locations instantaneously. By improving the telecom system, countless businesses have witnessed an increase in their productivity and increased growth.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages when it comes to modern technology. The increased utilization of airplanes has contributed to global warming, resulting in a significant carbon footprint. Furthermore, worldwide communication has led to social and cultural implications. Consequently, there will be a loss of cultural barriers and cultural identity due to the amalgamation of cultures globally.

I would therefore argue that although there are a few disadvantages regarding worldwide connections, there are a plethora of advantages that outweigh the negative aspects. It facilitates economic growth, tourism and the instant exchange of data.