In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should be responsible for solving this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the prevalence of obesity and health complications among children is increasing at an alarming rate and has become a global and serious issue. Public debate has been going on over whether the government should take full responsibility for this. I completely agree that this is the best way to tackle the issue of deteriorating public health.

Firstly, local governments can take action to prevent childhood obesity because children’s health is more dependent on factors that the government can control. In other words, the government can mandate and implement strong nutritional standards for foods and beverages available in government-run or regulated after-school programs, recreation centers, parks, and child-care facilities. Furthermore, the government can increase penalties on businesses found adulterating food by adding harmful and artificial substances. This method will ensure that children have limited access to unhealthy foods and beverages that negatively impact their health.

Another point to consider is that the government can be involved in encouraging children to pursue more physical activities rather than leading a more sedentary lifestyle. That is to say, governments can guide schools into incorporating more sports classes into the curriculum as well as encourage extracurricular activities. Moreover, it can build and maintain parks and playgrounds that are safe and attractive for playing, and in close proximity to residential areas. As a result, children and their parents will be more motivated to perform physical activities such as playing football or cycling at the park.

Finally, the government can develop media campaigns and utilize platforms including YouTube and television, to promote healthy eating and active living through consistent messages. For example, when kids watch an attractive advertisement or attend campaigns that promote healthier diets, they will start asking their parents to buy them such products.

In conclusion, I would argue that the government plays a major role when it comes to dealing with unfit, overweight children and inactive lifestyles.