The United Nations recently celebrated its 70th anniversary. What benefits has it brought during this time? Do you think the UN will last another 70 years?

The United Nations commemorated recently it 70th birthday. This essay will discuss both questions, if the UN has it brought benefits during this time and whether it will last another 70 years, providing my overall opinion.

Since the end of the World War II, the United Nations have been taking care of our world, the most of the time in a positive way. It was the entrance gate for many countries underdeveloped to receive economic help likewise international recognition. In addition, any member of the organization have to accomplish certain requirements such as human rights, which made that many countries like mine, Spain, access to a Marshall Plan, in the middle fifties of the 20th century.

In regards with the second question it is difficult to guarantee another 70 years of the UN. Unfortunately, every day the role of the United Nations is more questioned by some countries, like United States of America. The Trump administration have criticised hardly the role of the organization the last years, which made it to limited their budget contribution to some important programs for the UNESCO.

In conclusion, there is a positive background after this 70 years but an uncertain future. In my opinion, UN has been a great initiative that made the world a better place to live for many people, which is a good reason to keep it between us. If there were no UN, someone would have to invented.