Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every
subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is believed that men and women should have the same educational
opportunities. However, I do not agree with the idea of accepting equal
proportions of each gender in every university subject. This essay will explain the
reasons why admitting equal numbers of male and female students in every major
is impractical.
First, having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply
unrealistic. Student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the
institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of
males and females, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In reality,
many courses are more popular with one gender than the other, and it would not
be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursing courses tend to
attract more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty
percent of the places needed to go to males.
Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that it would be
unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. Universities should
continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their
qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities,
and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good
grades at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course,
it would be wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or
fewer qualifications.
In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and
it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based
on gender.