In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governments ought to levy a tariff on junk food because of the increase in the number of health risks involved in consuming this kind of food. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this viewpoint.

Imposing high taxes might play a vital role as the fund could be used in the improvement of overall medical facilities. This money has been used to treat health problems related to these products. The government could use the revenue to provide financial assistance to low-income families who need help paying for healthcare. This would help to ensure that everyone has access to quality care, regardless of their ability to pay. Tax from tobacco could be used in the same way. The United Kingdom is a prime instance, where money from smokers is used to treat lung cancer and heart disease.

Increasing taxes would make prices more and consumption lower. This seems to stem from the fact that fast food companies would transfer these taxes to consumers by higher product price, resulting in many not being able to afford kinds of food because these are gradually expensive. Fast food would become a luxury merchandise, and then it is only consumed occasionally, leading to less harmful to the general public’s health. For example, the cost of organic food is prohibitively expensive for most people, and that is why only a small percentage of the population buys it regularly. Should fast food prices be increased as highly as organic food, individuals will choose organic food instead.

In conclusion, the tax imposition of authorities can discourage citizens from using junk food and that may boost healthy food access to more people.