Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every

subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued whether the idea of accepting equal proportions of each gender should be applied to every university subject. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view.

To begin with, it seem to be impractical to have the same number of men and women on all degree courses. The number of students depend on how many applications the institution receives and their student quotas. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of male and female, it would need enough applicants of each gender. Furthermore, there are many subjects that are mainly for one sexuality than the other. This might be explained by the fact that IT courses tend to attract more men students. If the universities ask for the same percentage for each gender, they might never meet the aim.

There is stronger reason to argue that it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender since it is about the quality, not the quantity. The principle goal is to choose the best candidates for each subject according to their qualifications. In this way, students could have a high-quality education system with equal opportunities for all. If a female student is the most suitable one for a place on a course, then it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer qualifications.

In conclusion, the admission of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both unrealistic and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.