Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As time has passed, human rights are arousing issues in many nations over the past years. Hence, some clamour that universities have to accept equal number of male and female in all faculties, however, it is absolutely disadvantageous for some reasons. This essay will discuss in regard to its drawbacks and better solutions.

To start with, despite the fact that male and female must have same opportunities and treated equally in all areas of studies, there would be downsides. First of all, physical strength is required in some subjects. For instance, if you want to become a soldier, fire fighter or police officer, you have to be very strong in order to keep yourself and others. Secondly, it may influence to the pupil rates. More females, for example, tend to attend to course of nursing, however, if half of them are allowed only, 50 per cent of women and only few per cent of men pupils will occupy lecture classes.

To make it clear, it is true that if all criteria of admission are applied equally to applicants apart from gender and faculties, percentages of students will be balanced naturally, as well as it inspires much more than other methods. Last but not least, if few people with different sex are included in workplaces, it is absolutely fine because it is sometimes mandatory in some fields such as police stations or hospitals. If female victim comes to police stations or male injured need to be treated, few can handle with it.

In conclusion, in spite of treatment towards male and female must be equal, it does not have be compulsory in acceptance of tertiary institution for some drawbacks. Therefore, equal criteria for anyone has more positive aspects and it should continue in the future.