universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that there is an enormous competition amongst students to get placed in the subject of their interest. Some people think that the ratio of male to female students getting enrolled in universities should be same for every subject. However, I completely disagree with this argument and in this essay I will present my views with example.

Firstly, it is impractical to even consider such a stance and nearly impossible to achieve.This is because the preferences of subjects among different sexes usually differ, which is also apparent from the immense gap visible in the technical job market, where the number of male employees dominates the number of female co-workers . To illustrate this, male students are normally inclined towards STEM courses, whereas female students are usually not keen on opting the same. Alternately, if it were to happen, every class would have had students, who didn't want to opt for that particular subject.

Furthermore, introducing such criteria would result in great injustice to a deserving student. The reason for this is it would really be difficult to find students of both sexes to be interested in the same subject, which can cause a deserving student to miss out on a subject of his liking. For example, if a male student is inclined towards joining a Machine Learning class and there is no more female student willing to join that course then he would have to drop out from that class. As a result, well deserving candidates would miss out getting an opportunity to excel in a field of their interest.

To conclude, Although the idea of having equal number of male and female students sounds ideal, it can be nearly impossible to achieve and would not be fair to other students.