University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is noticeable that more male students choose physics, maths as their majors than female students, while most girls prefer history and laws. This can be explained by their performance in those subjects and their interest. Therefore, university should not accept equal numbers of male and female students in all subjects.

To begin with, boys can be better at some subjects than girls. Although it is true that everyone was born with the same brain system, the way they think when confronting difficulties can be quite different. Girls are emotional, whereas boys tend to use reasons to make accurate explanations. For example, it has been surveyed that male students can solve the math problem more quickly than female students though they acquire the same knowledge and are given the same assignments every day. It is because boys are more capable of utilizing math theories and more sensitive to figures. Another example can be seen in physics. With plenty of mathematical equations, the movement of a ball can be described as inaccessible. To calculate the speed of the ball and predict the route requires the understanding of all physical formulas with many variables, which can be extremely hard for most girls.

Besides, fewer girls study some subjects than boys, and consequently it is unfair for university to reduce the number of male students for the sake of balancing students in two sex categories. For example, only a few girls attend subjects like structural mechanics, while there are usually more than one hundred boys learning those subjects. If university only accept the same number of males as females, the total number will decrease dramatically with only ten boys and ten girls. As a result, those boys have to unwillingly change their subjects into others they dislike, such as laws and marketing.

In conclusion, while equal numbers of boys and girls seemingly indicate that the university attaches equal importance to admissions regardless of their gender, this measure will result in a lot of students being forced to choose subjects they are not interested in and will jeopardize the whole education system of a major.