THE USE OF CORPORAL PUNISHMENT (PHYSICALLY HITTING STUDENTS) IN SCHOOLS IS IN DECLINE. YET IT SHOULD BE USED TO IMPROVE BEHAVIOUR.

TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT?

There is a belief that we should hit students for their bad behavior, but some people want to use it more to educate children. From my viewpoint, there are better ways of dealing with bad children, such as ignoring or rewarding good habits.

It is notable that children usually make some annoying noises, mess around their parents because they want adults to pay attention to them. So, if we apply corporal punishment, we just create contemporary pain and scare to them, which means we did what they want us to do and soon they will become stubborn and repeat it again. However, if we ignore them, they will get bored and think that their actions are meaningless, so they may stop doing that for a while. But there are some children who suffer from mental disorder, and they cannot sit still and they require special care to overcome it. But we still need to stay calm and do not hit them because it may make everything worse.

On the other hand, not only does ignoring make things easier, but we also need to reward them for good things. For example, when a child does something good, such as finishing all their homework before going to sleep, some compliments will make them happier and they will want to do it the next day. For a long period of time, they will create a good habit of finishing everything on time, not keep delaying it for the next time. But sometimes we need to punish them slightly for their mistakes, such as giving them no cakes for dessert because they did something wrong and they will try to avoid them next time. So the child will grow up with a strong mind, knowing what is good to do and what is not, becoming a good person.

In conclusion, physical punishment is unnecessary because it is ineffective compared to other ways. Therefore, parents and teachers should learn how to treat their children better and apply suitable punishments