The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although usage of physical punishment in the educational system is experiencing a downward tendency these days, several people still hold the belief that this type of penalty is so far essential for the pupil's behavior to become better. From my perspective, I found no justification to support such a brutal educational measure since physically hitting students may result in numerous detrimental consequences for students.

First and foremost, after the corporal punishment, the pupil's confidence and mental health go into a nosedive, which in turn hamper their academic performance. There is the possibility that students suffering from whipping, sparking, and flogging may subsequently get low self-esteem and have the tendency to loathe schools and lose their interest in studying. In the worst scenario, these pitiful pupils will presumably suffer from emotional damage and various comorbidities for their lifetime. Anxiety disorders, substance abuse, and depression, to mention but a few.

In the second place, harsh physical punishment hardly has any impact on the defiant pupil but turns them into violent adults. When unruly students are spanked, they don't learn how to make better choices. In fact, many of them even accept abusive behavior as a reality. By way of exemplifying, these students take their anger out on their vulnerable peers in the immediate future. In the longer term, they either end up becoming juvenile delinquents or grow into abusive parents, thus, perpetuating the cycle of abuse.

From these aforementioned explanations, one could draw the conclusion that corporal punishments should never be used at school in the name of education as it only brings low self-esteem, mental illnesses, and violent children.