The use of mobile phones has increased dramatically in recent years. What are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

Compares to a decade ago, it seems like mobile phones are more common in recent years. Therefore, the beneficial and negative aspects of this development are clearer for us to see. The essay will mention both types of results of the dramatic increase in users of portable devices.

On a positive note, mobile phones can help us carry tons of files and books. While bringing a heavy bag full of papers might be inconvenient, a phone is portable and can be used in any situation. Using mobile phones also makes communications more straightforward, whether they use them for business or pleasure. Besides, these devices are fun and enjoyable to use, with games, pictures, music, and even email to text with friends in their free time. They are also personalized, expressing styles and fashion through shape, color, and different ringtones.

On the other hand, there have been several drawbacks due to the increasing cell phone usage. Firstly, spending too much time on phones can lead to several health problems, especially eye-related diseases. Some researchers have also been concerned about the connection between the radiation of cell phones and certain types of cancer. Secondly, because people can bring phones everywhere and use them anytime, they are constantly available and there might be higher expectations and demands on responding time. For example, employers’ expectations of their employees, or between parents and their children. Also, mobile phones may affect people’s social skills and manners at certain moments throughout the day. Some people’s rudeness might go alert for their latest call or message, as they chocking their phones or smacking the phones down on a platform, even worse, when they aggressively throw their phones away.

Overall, mobile phones have dramatically changed the way we live, in both negative and positive ways. It depends on users whether to use them properly.