Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In the marketing world, advertisement is the most go-to way to access to the customers’ needs, hence, many labels have been taking advantage of this and forecasting huge numbers of advertisements on a daily basis. Personally, I assume that buyers to some extent might both benefit and lose due to the vast influential effect of this marketing strategy.

First and foremost, on a regular basis, from billboards to short break from TV programs, consumers are bombarded with advertisements which consistently has a toll on their shopping decisions. According to many exhaustive researches, the more choices we are provided with, in reverse, the more time it deprives from us to come to one last decision. For example, when a buyer is intrigued by products Coca Cola, out of the blue, an advertisement about Fanta shows up and results in the indecisive confusion in purchasing the final drink. In the long run, our time in other activities is deterred as a replacement for shopping. Therefore, there are certain moves can be done by the authority to secure the consumers from advertisements.

As Tv break is the most fertile land for advertisements, the government can limit the numbers of meaningless advertisements during those time and replace it by short meaningful messages instead.

However, besides that flaw of this advertising strategy, on the other hand this is also a precious opportunity to find out about the most suitable to each customer’ situation. With the proliferation of this marketing campaign, the buyers are opened to a various list of products. For instance, in the early of 21th century, in Vietnam only a minuscule amount of the people there had the chance to approach with hamburgers but thanks to the vast contribution of the art of advertisements, a few decades after this dish has been one of the most common domestic fast food. Moreover, at the present, not only they vary our shopping lists, but they also provide us a crystal clear of the products’ information beforehand.

In conclusion, in general, although the benefits of advertisements can not be ignore, in many circumstances, the excessive advertising results in many considerable negative effects to the customers.