The use of mobile phones in public places is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of advanced technology, the mobile phone is one of the most widely used technologies and it plays an important role in our lives. In my opinion, I believe that it is not as harmful as smoking, and people should be allowed to use mobile phones in public places.

I suppose that using mobile phones is not negative as smoking in public places. The main reason to ban smoking in certain places is passive smoking has a negative effect on public health, while mobile phones do not have much. Smoking does not only affect the smoker negatively. It also affects all the people around those who smoke because when people smoke in public the smoke travels everywhere through the air, and the negative effects of this smoke affects all living creatures such as a cancer and a heart disease. Unlike smoking, texting and calling do not cause fatal diseases to those who stand around mobile phone users. In other words, the levels of damaging effects that mobile phones and smoking have on society are not the same.

Moreover, I disagree with those who argue that mobile phones should be banned in public places. Today, mobile phone has become popular to most people since it is very convenient. The most advantage of having a mobile phone is you can communicate to your family and your friends no matter what where you are. For instance, you can contact easily to your friends by calling or sending messages everywhere without electricity. From the business’s point of view, it is obvious that mobile phones assist you in business a lot, such as, make schedule of working, surf the internet, and keep in touch with their companies. Moreover, you can relax with mobile phone’s applications, for example, play games, listen to music, or chat with your friends.

In conclusion, using mobile phones has more benefits rather than restricting as smoking. So I believe that the mild disadvantages could be easily limited by educating people regarding the mobile phone in public places.