The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is no gainsaying the fact that with the ever increasing demand to attain luxury in life many a person nowadays has more than the required amount of cars. Although them being a tool of convenience, they certainly bring along some problems, such as disastrous air pollution and heavy traffic snarls. Therefore, an echelon of society believes that should the use of cars be discouraged, we would be able to curb this problem at hand. However, I do not completely accord on it as according to my school of thought, there are far better ways to do so.

To initiate with the problems that beset with the use of cars. First and foremost, there is an increase in the pollution levels as compared to the olden days, when there were fewer cars. To be precise, the more cars on the road, the more air will be tainted. In other words, this is leading to a very dramatic climate change around the world. For example, according to a survey conducted by Indian Climate Board, 11% of the depletion of the ozone layer is constituted to the pollution caused by vehicles. Second to this, an enormous number of cars are now a leading cause for traffic snarls even in conurbations. Therefore, unless a solid solution to this menace is not attained it would lead to a catastrophe.

Having proposed by a certain cohort of the society that individuals should be discouraged from using their cars is only possible in theory. This is because they should be taught about the harmful effects of unnecessary use of cars, only then would an individual support this cause. Take india for instance, New Delhi in 2012, conducted campaigns and made billboards about the dreadful effects of pollution and also made public transport free for females, which encouraged them to use it instead of cars. Moreover, many multinational companies in India incentivize their employees who car-pool, which has effectively reduced traffic congestion in the cities.

To reiterate, having said that, even though more use of personal cars has led to a rampant increase in air pollutants and traffic problems; however, these cannot be simply curbed by enforcing people not to use their cars. But rather, individuals had better be enlightened about various other methods of transport and the benefits that come with it.