Many goods transported for long distance. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no gainsaying the fact that many a person, living in geographically secluded locations, relies mainly on imports as they are incapable of producing the goods themselves. Therefore, a certain echelon of the society is in the business of transporting them even to the far of lands. Although exporting of raw materials as well as manufactured items to other countries might be of benefit to the mother country as it would boost its economy and increase job opportunities, there is no denying the fact that it would have a negative impact on the countries receiving them.

To initiate with the fruits of exporting that developed countries reap. First and foremost, this business is helpful in uplifting their economy and asserting their presence on the map. To be precise, should there be more trade with other countries, there would be more money pouring into their economy. In other words, the richer the country is, the wealthier and happier its citizens will be. For example, according to a survey conducted by Indian Trade Society, the G.D.P of the country grew by 12% once a trade route was established to far south African countries, for almost everything had to be provided to them. Second to this is that there would be more job prospects for the blue collars as they would not require much advanced education for heavy labor work. Therefore, it is evident for developed countries trading goods will increase their economy by folds and also help in providing jobs to their citizens; however, the same is not true for the country on the receiving end.

There are some nations which are so backwards that they do not even have the rudimentary amenities for their day to day life and solely rely on imports. This is because they are not motivated in developing something of their own. In other words, this backward mindset and the constant receival of everyday imports is deterring them from becoming a developing nation. Take Uganda for instance, they receive toothbrushes and even soaps from neighboring allies. This dependency makes them not appreciate the value of education and even enforce their children into heavy labor just for the sake of earning money.

To reiterate, even though developed nations find it easy to increase their economy though imports and exports, it had better be understood by the countries receiving them that they totally cannot be relying on them and need to find a tool for their developmental success.