ln many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in the

past. ls this a positive or a negative development?

There is no gainsaying the fact that the children learn from things and allowing them to do so is immensely important to maintain the fabric of a society. Therefore many a country nowadays is liberal with the freedom of their younglings; however this trend was not so popular in the past. The reason for this being: the parents in the olden days were very conservative and the children were made to follow the indigenous beliefs of their parent, which hindered their progress.

To initiate with the negative effects of restraint on freedom in the past. Primarily, the progenitors in the past had a notion that should the child be allowed to decide on his own, he would lead himself into trouble. This is because, they thought that unless they do not help it is not possible to succeed. For example, according to a survey conducted by Bharath Matrimony, 77% of the brides and grooms in India are forced to marry in the households of their parents choosing rather than their own. Second to this is the fact that children are made to follow religious and cultural beliefs taught by their parents. The older they grow, the stronger the teachings. In India for instance, children had better follow the beliefs taught by their parents, even though they contradicted the laws of science. Therefore, many backwards countries are finding it difficult to progress with such a school of thought.

Having said that in many countries who are modernizing and leaving behind the indigenous rituals. First and foremost, children in such countries are given more freedom to think and work their minds. To be precise, they are developed in such a way that they can scavenge life for themselves without any help. Norway for instance, promotes parents to make their children work and lets them choose their field as well from the age of 18, which has led to G.D.P growth by 2%. Moreover, children being allowed to do whatever they please and whomever they marry has also benefited them. For example, a survey conducted by Tinder, a dating app, all over the world 88% who considered love marriage had a stable and a happy life as compared to their counterparts.

To reiterate, putting the children through the hardships of following the world and old beliefs is a thing of the past. Hence, allowing the children their free will and guiding them through the path that they have trodden has a far more positive aspect.