The use of social media is replacing the face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

(02)

In recent years, using social networking platforms to keep in touch with other people in the community has been taking place in many parts of the world. While it is argued that this trend can bring some merits, I firmly believe that its adverse consequences exceed them.

There is no doubt that it is beneficial for users to contact their relatives without geographical distances conveniently. In addition, communicating with people by social media is so inexpensive that individuals are able to more easily expand their social circles nowadays rather than spend plenty of their time and money exchanging information with others living apart through letters in the past. During the lockdown period, because of the Covid-19 pandemic spread, for example, people could continue to directly send images, clips, or messages to others without any distraction.

However, I can find many downsides associated with social media in communication, one of which is that innocent citizens are more likely to face cyber-crimes or anonymous harassers. Potential victims are unable to resist their harassment, fraud, or blackmail, making criminal management extremely difficult.

Another critical demerit is that people tend to become more and more emotionless when abusing social media despite many warnings by experts. With the private lifestyle, they are less likely to have face-to-face communications with others; thus, using social networking platforms allows them to make conversations without in-person interactions, enhancing their relationship bonds to become unstable and distant.

In conclusion, I completely agree that the demerits of social media interactions, in terms of safety and spiritual connections, far outweigh its merits, such as their convenience and speed.