The use of software makes it unnecessary for people to know how to spell words correctly these days.

Do you agree with this statement?

Applications that automatically correct spellings are ubiquitous and heavily integrated into most gadgets. They have such an impact on one’s literacy that it is proposed, thanks to them, knowing how to spell is oblivious. This statement is completely untrue, as will be proved in the following essay.

The popularity of spelling software is undeniable. This stems from the fact that autocorrects are becoming increasingly precise, giving suggestions that are genuinely compatible with the context. Also, as voice input could be transcribed directly into texts, there is less pressure for people to have to check their spellings. However, all of these features are only meant to be supplementary as these apps can only be accessed by smart gadgets, which are not constantly accessible.

The need for knowing how to spell, however, is imperative to our lives. To begin with, numerous activities necessitate handwriting, of which effectiveness is tied to correct spelling. Examples for this are wide-ranging, from writing essays, filling out forms to completing police records or medical notes. Likewise, collecting and comprehending information cannot be achieved without recognizing words and understanding their meanings. For instance, reading specialized articles requires from readers a certain level of familiarity with the terms while listening to news naturally involves the process of distinguishing words that have similar sounds but different meanings. Lastly, it is impossible to divorce spelling from other aspects of a language like grammar and syntax as part of a rigorous approach to literacy.

Stemming from the aforementioned arguments, it is in my conviction that knowing how to spell correctly is still crucial in our lives and albeit useful, spelling software can only facilitate the process instead of gradually eradicating it.