Various actions need to be simultaneously taken so as to curtail cigarette consumption

All cigarette packs carry warning labels regarding their health effects, yet from my personal experience, most smokers remain indifferent. Hence, It is necessary to understand the driver behind smoking as well as providing suggestions to promote quitting tobacco.

One of the principal reasons why smokers are unable to dispose of this harmful routine is that they are addicted to a very powerful stimulant called ‘nicotine’. It seems to be a fact that almost all people can be enticed to experiment with cigarettes by their peers or take up smoking due to curiosity initially, but short-lived satisfaction can result in lifetime dependence on this habit-forming substance. For example, many studies have shown that most tobacco users have an aspiration for smoking cessation, but few managed to overcome the temptation to smoke, which necessitates extraordinary willpower not many individuals possess.

Various actions need to be simultaneously taken so as to curtail cigarette consumption. To begin with, governments can impose heavier duties on tobacco, which undoubtedly reduce a substantial number of tobacco distributors and smokers alive. At the same time, propaganda campaigns concerning the repercussions of cigarette smoke on the respiratory system targeted at prospective users, especially impressionable juveniles, should also be broadcast on television and the Internet. For example, TV program organizers could invite ex-smokers to give an elaborate account of physical suffering they must tolerate daily.

In conclusion, while there are so many justifications for tobacco use, I believe that a combination of such measures can no doubt deter many people from selecting smoking as a recreational activity.