We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer-based technology.

How do you think it will change in the future?

Is it good for us to rely so much on computers?

At the dawn of the third millennium, the proliferation of technology using features available on computers accompanied with humans' reliance on it is now aggressively chasing the level of growth and I deem that this trend will continue in the foreseeable future. Nonetheless, dependence too much on computer systems can bring about loads of drawbacks that overshadow its benefits. This essay will elaborate on my belief including the ideas of the importance of computers in society's development and the issues of unemployment and insecurity.

To begin with, the advancement in computers has greatly contributed to the betterment of human society. Starting with the large-room-size machine doing basic calculations in a few minutes creating a breakthrough in the history of invention, computers now being an integral part of both working fields and our daily life. Here and now, we use computers to aid in improving working efficiency, say, banking online, storing information, or managing the production chains, with the help of devices using computer networks our work has been more convenient and comfortable. These smart and fast-calculated machines have as well taken over some specific individuals’ places, reducing the human-nature-related errors and mistakes in offices. By way of exemplification, researchers at Yale University have announced statistics proved that in just two first decades of the 21st century, occupations have been 3 to 4 times more straightforward and less demanding for employees due to the penetration of this technology, but approximately 67% more accurate data around the world is, which demonstrates the significant alter it has made to our lives. What is more, the living standard has also been improved. Thanks to social media platforms we now can access to news and knowledge every time we need it and build up our relationships with loved ones no matter how far the geographical distance is. Furthermore, devices centered on computers have provided users with means of entertainment such as video games, music, and so on. All of them are about to create a more fulfilling life that we are able to possess just by sitting at home. Given those upsides above, I do doubt that there will be anything that has enough power to halt the tendency regarding the utilization of computers in the upcoming time.

On the other hand, there are still a wealth of risks with the two foẻmost ones making dependence excessively on this cutting-edge invention far more negative than positive. First of all, is the ever-increasing unemployment rate. Explaining for this, as I wrote above computers have gradually handled humans in other positions of lots of jobs, this entails in the doubled number of people do not have wỏk in 2021 compared to 1992 according to the Times, a sizable number that is worrying the governments worldwide. Another downside of this phenomenon is cybercrime and insecurity. To clarify this, once we tend to store all of the vital data on computers, hackers can easily steal them away provided they are capable of breaking into the networks. This is what happened in Jamaica in 2017 when nearly 48% of their essential information was exposed to the public when a middle-aged hacker accessed their servers. To build upon this point, in the last six years, 70 million cases of cyber crime most of them are fraud, and bullying happening on social networking were recorded by the UN, which wản us about the excessive amount we spend on surfing on the computers’ screen.

To recapitulate, there is no doubt that in the future the utilization of technology based on computer will keep climbing with those advantages mentioned above, however, the dangers of reliance utterly much on it including the totally low sàety level and the fact that people are losing their jobs still exist which those benefits can not justify for.