We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

The rapid development of society has paved the way for the steady progression of the journalism. Some people believe that we can have knowledge from news while others argue that we cannot trust journalists. I partially agree with this two statements and I think that the selection is the key. Based on my knowledge and experience, I will discuss my supporting reasons with further details below.

Quality newspapers, such as traditional newspapers and national newspapers instead of the tabloid, provide a lot of readers with correct information. For example, USA Today, The Daily Mail, Times of India,…are prestigious newspapers that you can get the latest news about sport, entertainment, travel, showbiz, business, politic,... As a result, the choice a quality newspaper helps readers broaden their understanding of the different areas of the life. The content of the newspaper is also an important part because nowadays most journalists tend to upload more sensational stories to the newspaper than different helpful news. Therefore, the option of the contents of the newspaper which we can trust it is really necessary. For instance, healthy articles usually share reliable information about nourishment which is good for health with readerships. This information is completely accurate because they are given by professionals before public publishment.

About journalistic ethics and standards, I think that honesty is the most necessary quality of the journalist because it shows the respect for readers. I cannot deny the fact the number of journalists posting precise information. However, many recent years, a vast majority of journalists provide readers with false information which fights the truth. For example, online newspapers, such as xyzt.com, post incorrect news about scandals of the famous singers to pay attention to readers. This not only negative effects to the future career of the journalists but it also damages the reputation of the newspaper. So, journalists should be honest since it exerts a great impact on the support of readers.

In conclusion, I think that taking advantage of the newspapers to expand our horizon should be encouraged. However, we must know how to choose a newspaper which is the most suitable for us to read. Moreover, the honesty of journalists makes a significant contribution to the sustainable development of the journalism.