Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the rich nations should receive a larger number of refugees and help them to resettle by offering primary accommodation. This essay disagrees with this view because it will put heavier pressure on the taxpayers and can create more threats to domestic security.

The main reason why the prosperous states should not accept too many refugees because it will create more pressure on their citizens. Governments obviously must spend a great amount of money from their annual budget for supporting the newcomers to start their new lives. This would negatively affect to financial plans of these nations. As a result, local people will have to pay more taxes to help the governments balance budget deficits. For example, recent research of the University of Guelph in Canada reported that the Canada government spent nearly 5 million dollars to bring 25,000 Syrian people to Canada in 2015 and it led to the serious unbalance in the Federal's budget in that year. The research also linked this over-spending to the launch of new carbon tax in 2018, which has had a huge impact on the living expenses of Canadians, as one of the remedies to fix the government budget deficit.

Another reason why developed countries should not take more refugees is that it would make society unstable due to risks to national security. This is because authorities could not filter all ineligible people who are criminals entering these states through humanitarian immigration programs. They only have limited tools to scan these people because they normally come to these nations without any supporting documents. This would cause the rising of offenses in the countries. For instance, Germany and other European countries, which shouldered the obligation of the crisis of refugees in 2015, have been coping with more and more violence related to the huge number of refugees from Iraq and Syria came in 2015. They finally had to close their borders to stop the endless flow of foreign people to pass the borders.

In conclusion, rich states should not take too many refugees to their nations because of the serious consequences that may risk their national security and the harder strains to their people. It is recommended that they should have an appropriate plan to take the international obligation on humanity crisis before taking any agreement on this matter.