As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that businesses should make social contributions within their reasonable purview. I completely endorse this statement for the following reasons.

Initially, charitable donations can help bolster the firm’s public image and build its brand. If a business is willingly cooperating with the local governments to handle existing environmental issues like water pollution, and constant congestion, it is likely to receive legal support from the authorities. For example, a company that manufactures wood furniture can obtain government approval to cut down trees faster. It can increase customer satisfaction by completing the work ahead of schedule, resulting in customer loyalty. The business can either make a charitable donation or holding a staff volunteer program.

Additionally, as environmental issues have become more serious, customers will alter their buying habits. The business can take advantage of this opportunity to introduce environmentally-friendly products to draw the shopper’s attention and retain them, which is essential for a financial institution’s long-term success. There have been a myriad of successful enterprises that foresee this situation and take a step ahead of their opponents, like Vinfast with cars powered by electricity, and Nestcafe with straws made of paper rather than normal plastic ones. All of them soon become popular among customers, bringing huge revenue to the business.

In conclusion, I believe that the business corporation's responsibility also includes social contributions for cultivating positive brand recognition and increasing sales. It is recommended that the government apply several measures to get business corporations to alleviate social issues.