As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that maximizing profits is the most important goal of businesses. However, in my opinion, I totally agree with the idea that companies should have responsibilities in terms of welfare projects and social contributions.

On the one hand, a wealthy financial budget is an essential target for a company’s surviving in the competitive environment. They have to enough money to cover running costs such as building rental fees, employees’ salaries and equipment investment. Companies often tends to have loans from banks to invest in their huge projects or financial strategies. Therefore, they might have to ensure their strong budget to pay for the banks if they want to have a sustainable development. Briefly, making profits is a survival concerns of a firm if they want to remain their successful and counter their opponents.

On the other hand, I side with proponents that businesses should have some policy in favor of social contribution. Firstly, company owners and managers could have extra money to support their employees such as transportation fees or living costs rather than solely exploiting them. This ensure the workers might have a better quality of life and therefore directly contribute to the development of the society. Secondly, businesses earn money on the sources around them, owners therefore should be happy to share a proportion in their profits to local charity projects.

In conclusion, although a strong budget is always a crucial concern of any business, but I personally concur that social responsibilities should be given the same attention by businesses instead of solely focusing on the financial objective.