As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but nowadays an increasing number of people believe that companies also have social obligations besides contributing to the economy. I fully agree with the notion that companies should do more for society than simply make money.

On the one hand, companies have always been inclined to gain profits. Logically, businesses are established on the basis of making money, and their utmost priority alongside profiting is covering fundamental running costs such as employees’ wages, office rent, and utilities. If a corporation is not financially stable, it is unlikely to thrive in highly competitive markets nowadays. In other words, it is crucial for companies to yield profits to meet both the customers' and employees' needs before concerning societal responsibilities.

On the other hand, running a business with the sole purpose of maximizing profits is unethical. The most basic social obligation that business owners have is to treat their employees well by providing healthy work environments, and paying a “living wage”. Another simple way that companies can contribute to society is to allocate funding to help address pressing problems namely poverty. For instance, Unilever, a pharmaceutical multinational company, is renowned for having a notable record of financially and medically aiding impoverished people in developing countries. As a result, not only do they remain a prosperous organization but they are admired by customers, as well. Finally, actions simple as paying sufficient taxes is bound to improve the company’s public image.

In conclusion, the importance of companies' social responsibilities needs to be equally accentuated as their financial objectives.