Young people learn good behavior more from movies and books than real-life experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that movies and books play a more crucial role than hands-on experiences in shaping the youth’s behavior. I disagree with this notion as I believe the role models portrayed in books and movies are not always suitable and that real-life experiences are more influential on people's mind.

To commence, some films and books can have a negative impact on one’s ideology, more particularly on that of children. While some books and movies are educational and can teach youngsters to be better, some fiction ones have exaggerated villains as the main characters. When consumed mindlessly, they can lead to improper behaviors. Take the movie “Joker” for example, despite being a criminal with morally wrong actions, the main character, Joker, is looked up to by many young audiences and is even considered a hero by some. As a result, many try to imitate his behaviors without realizing the possible dire consequences.

Secondly, practical experiences are undoubtedly more likely to be engraved in one's mind. To elaborate, people can learn more from experiences as they can remember them and the lessons they have learned more vividly. If one behaves badly and is criticized by others, one will realize what one did is wrong and affects others, thus learning not to make the same mistakes in the future. While bullying has always been taught in schools and books, bullies do not change their behavior unless their teachers and parents punish them.

In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that books and movies teach young people good behavior better than practical experiences. Learning through experiences is more effective in shaping young people's behavior and attitudes because the lessons acquired are direct, better stored, and more suitable for each individual.