As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but nowadays an increasing number of people believe that companies also have social obligations besides contributing to the economy. I fully agree with the notion that companies should do more for the society than simply make money.

On the one hand, companies have always been inclined to gain profits. Because businesses are established on the basis of making money, logically, their utmost priority alongside profiting is covering fundamental running costs such as employees’ wages, office rent, and utilities. If a corporation is not financially stable, they are unlikely to thrive in a highly competitive market like today. In other words, it is crucial for companies to yield profits for maintenance and growth before concerning societal responsibilities.

On the other hand, running a business with the sole purpose of maximizing profits is unethical. Firstly, the most basic social obligation that business owners have is to treat their employees well by providing healthy work environments, and paying a “living wage”. Another simple way that companies can contribute to society is to allocate funding to help address pressing problems namely poverty. This kind of activity can also be considered a way for company to promte their brand image, thereby driving more sales. For instance, Unilever, a pharmaceutical multinational company, is renowned for having a notable record of financially and medically aiding impoverished people in developing countries. As a result, not only do they remain a prosperous organization but they are admired by the public, as well.

In conclusion, the importance of companies' social responsibilities ought to be equally accentuated as their financial objectives.