What are the causes and solutions to higher rates of obesity among children in some countries?

Recently, higher rates of overweighted children have been recorded in several countries. There are two principal reasons why the figure has risen: unreasonable diet and sedentary lifestyles. In order to tackle this issue, daily exercise and a balanced diet should be encouraged among juveniles.

In general, obesity occurs as a result of children's behavior in daily life, particularly their poor diet and an inactive lifestyle. To begin with, children nowadays tend to stay indoors and sit in the same place for hours watching TV, playing games, chatting, and so on instead of engaging in physical activities. Due to the effects of COVID-19, youngsters have been staying home for longer than ever, contributing markedly to their inactivity. Therefore, excess calories are not burned which is the dominant factor leading to weight gain. Apart from a stagnant lifestyle, it is an unhealthy eating habit that makes children in the modern age more prone to obesity. It is no doubt that those who are young prefer sugar-rich and fast food over nutritious and low-calorie food. Since fast food restaurants mushroom everywhere providing cheap, convenient, and good-tasting food, children now show less interest in eating home-cooked meals.

However, this problem can be addressed in several ways. First of all, schools should have nutrition courses where both students and parents can learn about the vital of having a proper diet along with the adverse effect of being overweight. In the course, they ought to be taught what a balanced meal consists of and the steps involved to prepare that meal as well. Besides having a balanced diet, a dynamic lifestyle is also advisable. Together with the required exercise periods at school, extracurricular activities such as field trips can be implemented which both help them get physical exercise and strengthen their soft skills.

In conclusion, numeral factors lead to the increasing rates of obesity among children in multiple countries with the two significant ones being having unbalanced diets and inactive lifestyles. Nonetheless, equipping both the parents and their offspring with knowledge about nutrition and encouraging physical activities is the key to resolving this adverse trend.