As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many businesses and companies have made a great amount of money and contributed the economic progression of the world. Therefore, opinions differ as to whether they ought to be responsible for society. While many experts think that making money is the main role and the only social responsibility of businesses, I would argue that there are some other activities they need to do to help society.

On the one hand, there are some reasons which motivate individuals to believe that companies only need to create money. The most fundamental one is that should businesses earn a lot of money, they will be able to pay for taxes posed by governments. For example, in Vietnam, many tremendous organizations like Fahasa or Thien Long expense billions of dong for taxes. Thus, Vietnamese authorities have enough money to spend for fields such as education or healthcare and tackling national issues. Moreover, when making a great deal of profits, commercial organizations can have plenty positive impacts on the development of the economies of many countries. To illustrate, Alibaba corporation has helped the economy of China to develop at a startling pace since it attracts many foreign organizations to invest to this country. As a result, the more companies decide to make investment to China, the faster the economy progresses.

On the other hand, I would opine that beside making money, businesses should have some duties for the development of society. Firstly, businesses should co-ordinate with authorities to deal with social problems like poverty or crimes. For instance, it is much better for companies to spare money for helping impoverished individuals. Therefore, it can not only help to eradicate the poverty but also make people more reliable in these organizations. Secondly, industrial businesses need to be concerned about the environmental problems. They had better find suitable approaches to reduce the influences that industrialization and production processes could have on the ecosystem.

In conclusion, we cannot deny that companies and corporations should focus on how to make profits, but it is much better for them to have some other social accountabilities.