As well as making money, companies should have social responsibility. Do you agree or not

Nowadays, the question whether enterprises should bear responsibility for society besides making money or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although generating profit is one of the top priorities for companies, their social responsibility should not be marginalized.

On the one hand, enterprise’s making money is of great benefits to society owning to a number of reasons. First, since tax from companies can make great contribution to national budget, these corporations should be encouraged to focus on doing their business. In fact, thanks to taxes authorities are likely to have more revenue to allocate for key fields including education or health care system, which can lead to the sustainable development of the nation. Second, by earning huge profits, companies potentially have opportunities to accelerate their business and create more job opportunities for a large number of workers. This means that firms can lower the rate of unemployment in society.

On the other hand, the social responsibility of companies will be far more significant. Firstly, since the business activities exert a profound impact on the living environment of community, companies should not neglect their environmental duties. To be more specific, production processes can result in gas emission or industrial waste which leads to serious environmental degradation, implying that companies should take steps to deal with unexpected consequences of their business. Moreover, since the proliferation of business is partly reliant on workforce down the road, companies should have duty to invest more in people, especially young student. For example, big corporations such as Vinamilk and Unilever can provide scholarships for talent students or ones coming from meager families who potentially would be skillful workers.

In conclusion, although making profits is fundamental principle of business, all companies should profoundly conduct their business in a socially responsible manner.