It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or not agree.

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Several claim that it is essential that punishment be required to educate children on how to distinguish between the right and the wrong from a young age. While I accept that enforcing punishment can be a disadvantageous method to teach children, I also believe that if implemented in a correct way, punishment would greatly benefit the education of young kids. Besides stating the advantages and the limitations of punishment, this essay will suggest the solutions in which the beneficial use of punishment can be promoted.

On the one hand, the act of treating children as if they were guilty just because of a simple mistake may discourage their willingness to learn. In more detail, young children have the tendency to perceive punishment as a great source of fear, which is likely to be the factor that terrifies them away rather than educating them, backfiring the initial purpose of using punishment to teach children. For example, in many scolding sessions conducted by parents, children are witnessed to react furiously and aggressively instead of making an effort to listen and behave with good manner. Thus, the use of punishment may impose no helpful impact on enhancing the comprehension of the sense of right and wrong among children at all.

On the other hand, punishment can be of tremendous advantage if executed in a well-planned methodological way. Specifically, it is mandatory that the punishment methods are researched and examined thoroughly for more effective guidance for children on behaving with good morality. For instance, if children steal toys from their friends, they should be punished by not being allowed to play toys for a few days and obliged to read books in the meantime. Not only would this provide them with an understanding that mistakes come with consequences but it also spares time for them to involve in other valuable activities. Another prime example of a good approach to teach children is when they shout at the elderly such as grandparents due to their emotional instability, it is compulsory that they apologize and ask for forgiveness. It is certain that in this way, they would be capable of acknowledging the importance of respecting the elders as well as being an empathetic individual.

In conclusion, though punishment can be considered a detrimental way of educating children from an early stage of life, I believe that with the appropriate approach, punishment is a useful tool which shall help to place significantly positive influence on children. That said, recommendations on the implementation of punishment are essential. Punishment, in order to work effectively, should be facilitated with a rewarding scheme. Particularly, after being punished, children should be rewarded for their fault recognition and attempt for improvement. Take the example above on how young kids ought to behave politely with their grandparents, once they have realized what they have done wrong, they could be granted with a hug as a gift, which would motivate them to make optimistic changes to their behaviours.