What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a car?

These days, buying a private car is becoming increasingly popular. For many people, especially young generation, prefer to commute with private cars rather than public transports. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, i will discuss some of the reasons why having a car is so popular and some of the reasons not to buy them.

Let's begin by looking at the benefits of having a car. One of the main positives of owning a car is that one can move around freely and decide when and where to go. For example, at night public transportation is not available and getting from A to B is problematic. This can give an opportunity to easy transportation.

Another benefit of personal vehicles is that it does not take so long time to go to different places. What i mean by this is that people do not waste time waiting for buses which are depending on timetables. So, in the majority of cases car owners get to their destination on time which is important.

Turning to the other side of the argument, private cars have their drawbacks too. One negative side of it is pollution. As i see, it leads to air pollution, global warming or even affects greenhouse emissions. This can effect humans' health that causes illnesses such as headache, stress or depression. Moreover, the number of cars is rising dramatically, it contributes the traffic jam and sometimes accidents. In other words, it effects transportation and road system. In addition, the cost of gasoline is expensive which means that not all people can afford to buy a car.

To sum up, owning a vehicle is never easy. People need to weigh up the pros of moving freely, avoid wasting time, and the negatives including pollution, health problems, traffic jam and accidents as well. Personally, i believe that the benefits in terms of freely commuting eventually outweigh any negatives.