What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

Nowadays, people live in “globalising world,” which means, it is common to decide studying or working in foreign countries. It is believed by some that this phenomenon has a number of benefits, while others pessimistic about this change.

On the one hand, people who do not support a policy of “open” country normally claim that if someone visits an another place, even if it is located in their own country, they might feel that they are aliens. Thus, it has no doubt that in foreign countries it will be worse and they will miss hometown. I personally have lived here in Kazakhstan ever since I entered a primary school, and 11 years have passed already. Now I feel that I am neither Korean nor Kazakh; in Korea I had observed that my typical daily habits were different from that of people who spent their whole life there.

On the other hand, there is a number of advantages from abroaders’ visit. Recent development status in science and economy could not be reached if humanity did not communicate with each other. For example, many recent scientific breakthroughs are the results of the collaboration of numerous scholars. They were from various countries, and they accomplished such a great researches as mapping human genomes or an observation of Higgs Boson. It is believed by many biologists and other scientists that the only difference between humankind and beasts is an ability to communicate effectively, even relatively small societies, such as the earliest civilization, made mankind stronger that any non-human beings. For example, a family would not seek for a group of wolves to hunt, while big communities as a city or town could do so; unlike the fact, that a group of hyenas would not go against a group of lions even if the former outnumbered the latter; it infers that food chain was the only ruling force for the rest but Sapiens. Thus, human beings were the first who broke the law and the only specie who could build the modern society.

To conclude, it is clear that globalization is an unstoppable trend, and although now we are not staying at a perfect harmony, it is definitely worth to cooperate. Still, there are many problems that we are facing, and each nation’s ability will not enough to solve those.