Which is more important when choosing a job, salary or job satisfaction?

There are various factors influencing people’s decision to choose a job. Some give priority to salary while others think that job satisfaction should be more considered . In my opinion, job satisfaction is of greater significance when embarking on a career.

To begin with, employment contentment gives workers a sense of motivation and ensures their long-term working maintainance. Obviously, people have a tendency to keep up to the job that they are interested in. Once they feel fulfilled in their work, they would find it meaningful and inspiring, thus maintain their greatest productivity. On the other hand, doing the job that is not involved in personal interests results in workers’ boredom and lack of motivation. As a results, a great deal of employees these days change their proffessions despite high salary.

Furthermore, well-paid yet unsatisfying occupation has undesirable impacts on workers’ physical and mental health. In terms of bodily fitness, remunerative jobs tend to require long working hours, which results in workers’ tiredness. For instance, entertainers, who earn a huge amount of money, are at higher risk of encountering health problems as they have to stay up late or work for long. In terms of mental life, employees suffer from serious stress as a consequence of great responsibilty required in high-waid jobs. To illustrate, doctors are not allowed to make any mistake in their job of curing patients, thus face constant anxiety.

In conclusion, wage and job satisfaction are two important factors to take into account when people persue a career. However, I personally believe that workers should put more emphasis on job happiness for a better working life.