Why would someone feel an urge to be in a relationship?

“Why is he/she always dating someone?” a seemingly nosy question that whoever gets asked, in all likelihood, would feel uncomfortable or even frustrated. However, there is no room for doubt that such a question has been raised with disbelief inside people’s minds at least once or twice but has never been directly inquired for fear of scrutinizing others’ private life. In fact, there is a phrase called “desperation for love”. This is used to describe a fervent craving for companionship from a partner. It has been widely acknowledged that love can be expressed in a wealth of distinctive ways, namely the bond between a mother and her daughter, the bond between a child and his or her pet, or simply just an affection that someone has towards a particular place. With that being stated, the question of “why does it necessarily have to be romantically themed?” has been raised. Why is it that some people can only feel respected and appreciated when it comes to a relationship between two people? There are a handful of explanations for an individual’s desperation for a relationship, such a common yet perplexing phenomenon, the most plausible of which will be detailly discussed in this essay.

Firstly, an individual’s seek for love from a significant other could be ascribed to the loneliness that they have to suffer from. Loneliness causes people to feel empty, alone, and unwanted. This case is mostly applied to those who do not receive enough affection from their beloved ones. By this, I mean the lack of parental affection or peer support could greatly contribute to the existence of an inner void that needs to be filled. People who are lonely often crave human contact, but their state of mind makes it more difficult to form connections with others. This does not necessarily mean those who are surrounded by a wide variety of friends would not feel lonely. Loneliness, according to many experts, is not about being alone. Instead, if a person feels alone and isolated, then that is how loneliness plays into his or her state of mind. It is completely understandable if an individual senses loneliness while having a handful of friends around, for they could only feel safe and secured when receiving love from their significant other.

Another explanation for a person’s desire for companionship from a lover is to get over their previous one. This type of affair is called a “rebound relationship”, an undefined period following the break-up of a romantic relationship during which one of the partners becomes involved with someone else, despite the fact that they have not yet healed from the break-up. Initiating a rebound relationship is basically using another person to avoid facing the mental agony that has been left by an ex. This behavior is mostly prone to people who are either emotionally immature or incapable of dealing with their feelings in a healthy way. Instead of letting go of a relationship and giving themselves time to learn from past experience, they chose to jump right into a new relationship without considering whether they truly love their partner or just merely looking for someone who could hopefully replace their ex.

Last but not least, the fantasies coming from romantic movies and TV shows could be partly accountable for some people wishing to be loved by a significant other. It goes without saying that movies could portray the concept to which society strives for since these were demonstrated the way people aspire them to happen and similar to how they want their lives to be run. The ideal relationship displayed on a media platform, if viewed continually, could result in watchers’ longing for companionship from a lover. Teenagers or young adults in their early twenties are most likely to be caught in this situation since they are more exposed to romantically themed media than the other age groups. In this day and age, the image of a teenage girl longing for a precious yet unrealistic love story is no longer considered strange and unusual.

As these three main reasons unambiguously demonstrate, a fervent desire for companionship from an admirer could be attributed to an urge to fill the void inside a person’s soul. These voids can be created by different people in distinctive situations. However, they are most commonly formed on the grounds of a sense of loneliness, a yearning to rebound from the previous relationship or simply just a source of influence from romantic movies or gameshows.