Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are widely differing views on the issue of whether we should preserve endangered species or not. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I intend to argue that conserving wild species has a crucial role to play in this day and age. The reasons for my position are as follows.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that protecting wild animals is essential to balance the ecosystems. There are delicate arrangements of plants and animals in which each species relies on the others for survival. The disappearance or introduction of a new breed would disrupt the balance by breaking the food chain and altering the habitat where they live. This imbalance would return and haunt us in unexpected ways. One particularly salient example of this is the arrival of rabbits soon after the European settlements in which they have been competing with other species for food and have destroyed farmers’ crops. The extinction of a predator can cause plagues by allowing their preys to multiply unchecked. Whilst ecological change constitutes a risk to our environment, it is clearly in our interest to preserve the wildlife and thus, protection of wildlife is entirely justified.

Yet, perhaps the strongest argument in favor of preserving endangered species is that all life has its own intrinsic value and therefore, hunting or poaching them should be made illegal even if they are not useful to human in practical ways. What is more, humans are responsible for the loss of habitat of a multitude of endangered species, thus, we should make every possible effort to conserve them.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my perspective that saving protected species from extinction is of the utmost importance to our ecosystem in order to maintain the balance of the environment and the value in and of themselves. Because the consequences in the foreseeable future are insurmountable, emergency actions to protect wildlife animals would be warranted.