Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Whether we look at the physical aspects, or psychological manner, it is true that women and men have differences. On the other hand i don’t believe that this is a necessity to restrain them to do a particular profession.

It is a fact that there are some professions which has dominated by one gender. An example to this can be kindergarten or primary school teaching, which are mainly chosen by women. Although this seems normal, a recent study surveyed in Australia showed that, boys in kindergarten or primary school are struggling to find themselves a role model. In fact the Australian government put some measures to encourage males to work in kindergarten or primary school as teachers.

Another example can be seen among military personnel, where men constitute the vast majority. Women rarely choose to be a soldier. Many people think that being a soldier is all about physical strength. But this is another bias, which has proven to be wrong, in wars in the last decade. Actually physical strength is only one aspect of being soldier, in fact it is even not the major one. Due to recent technological advances, the most important skills that a soldier has to have, are analyzing the problems and managing the condition, which can be done by women as good as man.

To conclude, although there are certain beliefs, that some jobs have to done by one gender, there is no scientific evidence or rationale behind this. Moreover, some studies showed that, working with an opposite gender usually increases productivity. Instead of excluding people from some jobs, we should encourage people to choose, whichever field they want to work.