It is better to eat food which is produced locally by small farmers, rather than food produced by ‘factory farming’ and transported long distances.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a big dilemma to choose between locally produced food and factory farming, whereas factory farming which became more popular threatens not only the way we eat but also the way we live, our traditions, and what we consume.

Factory farming became a huge industry threatening diversity of food and local culture. Consuming locally produced food by small farmers, supports also local producing and enhances local economy. Since global farming companies are aiming for maximizing their profits, they try to integrate new methods in producing process which disturbs the traditional farming methods. Those methods are experiences gained and preserved by farmers in centuries which give the food its local taste.

As a second aspect of this, the variation of food is affected also in a biological manner, for example instead of eating locally produced tomato with a local seed, you eat a tomato which’s seed came from Israel or China which is more durable to diseases, cold or sun. This kills local seeds and in long run the fauna of local regions. All the farmed food became same taste, same shape, smells same.

Finally food industry which is spreading and became powerful all around the world, also threatens local small farming companies, which is important for local jobs. Since young people cannot find in the local areas they tend to move to big cities where they also lose their local traditions, and habits and get closer to became singular, demand and consume same food, drink, clothes etc.. this in turn supplies this vicious cycle of big factory farming.

To sum up, although factory farming became a huge industry, in a wide aspect, it also changes our production methods, consuming habits, and where and how we live, which in turn will going to alter all the local cultures gained in ages and endangers them to extinct.